Sioux Nation Treaty Council - est 1894

A summary of the 1851 and 1868 treaties

The Great Sioux Nation, whose real name is the Oceti Sakowin, is comprised of  seven sub-nations who spoke the Lakota, Dakota, and Nakota language.  The Tituwan sub-nation spoke the Lakota dialect and lived in the western most portion.  The Oceti Sakowin (Great Sioux Nation) occupied a vast land area that covered 24 American states and parts of 4 Canadian Provinces. Other smaller nations also lived within the area as the Indigenous concept of territory followed natural law and was much different than the European concept of territory. The people of the Oceti Sakowin (Great Sioux Nation) originated from the mouth of Wind Cave in the Black Hills.  The Black Hills were so sacred that they were used for ceremonial, prayers, medicinal, and burial purposes only.

Read more: A Summary of the 1851 and 1868 Treaties


Charmaine White Face  Zumila Wobaga

Sat. May 14, 2005 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

April 28, 2005

Morning coffee and rolls, Noon meal, and afternoon snacks

Lower Brule Convention Center 120 Crazy Horse St. Lower Brule, SD 57548


Revival of the Oceti Sakowin, the Seven Great Council Fires Panel from Canada, Minnesota, North & South Dakota

Fort Laramie Treaty of 1868 Power Point Presentation by Harvey White Woman

International Work with the United Nations Report by Charmaine White Face, Spokesperson Teton Sioux Nation Treaty Council

Discussion following each Presentation


Golden Buffalo Motel, 120 Crazy Horse St., Lower Brule, South Dakota 57548 (605) 473-5577 / 473-5506 (Must have a credit card or deposit)

Lode Star Motel, PO Box 140, Fort Thompson, South Dakota 57339 Phone Number - (605) 245-2899 / 245-2176 Flat rate of - $29.00 add $5.00 per person - two (2) Queen beds per room

Holiday Inn Express, Oacoma, South Dakota

I-90 Exit 260 (Chamberlain, SD area) Toll free 1-800-Holiday 1-800-465-4329 Camp Grounds are also located in the area.

Cosponsored by: Lower Brule Treaty Office, Hunkpati Oyate, Defenders of the Black Hills, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation



Donations may be sent by check or money order to:
Sioux Nation Treaty Council,
PO Box 2003, Rapid City, SD 57709. 

Or, purchase the book, Indigenous Nations Rights in the Balance, from Living Justice Press and all royalties go to the Treaty Council.  Thank you


Sioux Nation Treaty Council
PO Box 2003
Rapid City
SD 57709  USA


"...CONCLUSION  Various historians has determined that the "Sioux Nation Treaty Council" formally formed in 1894, shortly after the Wounded Knee massacre. The Sioux Nation Treaty Council represents all of the Sioux Tribes (Approx 49 Tribes), and all other Sioux Treaty Councils would be subordinate to it, regardless of the Treaty Council's name...."  See Bielecki Report pages 7 & 8,  Oct. 5, 2008 (Bielecki Report)